Curation Team

Meet the National Curatorial Team Members. These nationally recognized Indigenous leaders were instrumental to the design, rollout, and selection process for this project. Chi miigwech/wado to each of you.

Sharon M. Day (Ojibwe)

Sharon is the Executive Director and one of the founders of the Indigenous Peoples Task Force (IPTF), formerly known as the Minnesota American Indian AIDS Task Force. She is an artist, musician, and writer. She has performed at Illusion Theater, The American History Theater, Pangea World Theater, and for performances at the Ordway, the Guthrie and others. Her writings have been published in journals and anthologies. She has scripted several plays for Ikidowin Youth Theater and a recent musical theater play that had a staged reading at Pangea World Theater. An environmental activist, she has led over 20 Water Walks since 2011, to offer prayers for these rivers. These rivers include the Mississippi, the Missouri, the Ohio and the James River in Virginia.

Acknowledgements for her work include the Resourceful Woman Award, the Gisela Knopka Award, BIHA’s Women of Color Award, The National Native American AIDS Prevention Resource Center’s Red Ribbon Award, the Alston Bannerman Sabbatical Award.  The Governor of the State of Minnesota, and the mayors of both St. Paul and Minneapolis named November 10, 1998 after her: Sharon M. Day, Day.  She is one of the Spirit Aligned Leadership Fellows, and an editor of the anthology, Sing! Whisper! Shout! Pray!  Feminist Visions for a Just World: Edgework Books, 2000. She is also one of two contributors to Drink of the Winds, Let the Waters Flow Free, Johnson Institute, 1978.

Ravyn Gibbs (Anishinaabe)

As an enrolled member of the Bois Forte Band of Chippewa with family ties to the Red Lake Nation, Ravyn serves to uplift the voices of Native communities and is passionate about eliminating health inequities and social injustices. Currently, Ravyn is the Native American Outreach Director for US Senator Tina Smith which enables her to focus on federal policy related to Native and Tribal affairs. Prior to working for Senator Smith, she worked for the US Senate Committee on Indian Affairs where she supported Congressional oversight and legislation development. Ravyn holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in criminology from the University of Minnesota Duluth. She also completed her Master of Social Work and Master of Public Health from the University of Minnesota with a focus in community practice and community health promotion. Using an intersectional lens, Ravyn works to uphold and expand the rights of those who have been historically disenfranchised and marginalized, particularly focusing on Indigenous rights.

Teresa McGinnis (Yurok)

Teresa is an enrolled member of the Yurok Tribe, descendent of the Wiyot & Tolowa Dee-ni’ Nation, born and raised in Humboldt County, CA. Growing up at home kept her working in the Tribal Communities since the age of 18, this helped her grow, succeed and become closer with her people. Born into a Yurok home and family it was in her blood to carry the tradition and teachings which led her to become the owner and designer of her own online jewelry business. 

For the past nine months Teresa appreciates being a part of the Seventh Generation Fund for Indigenous Peoples, Inc. and being able to help the Native Community.

Christopher Peters (Pohlik-lah and Karuk)

Chris is the owner and Principal Consultant for Red Deer Consulting which is an independent firm that provides identity-based cultural advising, mentoring and capacity building services for tribal nations and communities.  For the past 33 years he has also served as the President of the Seventh Generation Fund for Indigenous Peoples, a renowned Native-led and designed Indigenous Peoples’ foundation founded in 1977. 

Kolby KickingWoman (Blackfeet and Aaniih)

Kolby has been a reporter with Indian Country Today for two years. Originally from Missoula, Montana, Kolby has covered everything from the Supreme Court, 2020 elections, sports and athletes in Indian Country and more. Indian Country Today’s content is free and if you would like to donate to help ICT continue its mission of telling stories of Indigenous communities by Indigenous journalists, you can donate here.

Who We Are

This project is a collaborative effort initiated by members of the Johns Hopkins Center for American Indian Health and guided by a national curation team.

 Founded in 1991 and based in the Department of International Health of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, the Johns Hopkins Center for American Indian Health supports public health interventions designed for and by Native peoples. Learn more at

Project staff from the Johns Hopkins Center for American Indian Health include: